» Particularly impressive was the NUS campus, where all the student life took place. «
Student vor einem Gebäude der University of California in Berkeley

Experience Report By Julius

National University of Singapore, 2023

With the support of the Lothar and Sigrid Rohde Foundation, I studied at the National University of Singapore (NUS) for a semester and gained unique academic and cultural experiences.

Singapore fascinated me as an “Asian Tiger” that has developed from a poor country to one of the most modern and progressive countries in the world in just a few decades. Singapore also has an internationally renowned university, the NUS, which is one of the top 10 in the world.

Academically, I used my stay abroad to specialize in the areas of machine learning and optimization algorithms. The practice-oriented modules offered numerous opportunities to work on extensive projects together with local students and gain valuable practical experience.

Particularly impressive was the NUS campus, which was home to the entire student life: from libraries, sports grounds, swimming pools and supermarkets to the famous Hawker Centers with their culinary diversity, the students were well catered for here. The NUS is also characterized by its special sense of community. There are professional student teams in various sports and the individual student houses have their own emblems and merchandise and are involved in interest groups such as soccer.

Singapore itself offers many sights such as Marina Bay, Gardens by the Bay or the Singapore Grand Prix. It is also a strategic starting point for traveling in Southeast Asia, so I was able to explore Malaysia, Indonesia, Thailand and Vietnam during my stay. These experiences made the primary academic stay a real adventure.

This combination of academic, cultural and social experiences enriched me personally. The semester abroad at NUS was a unique experience that I will always remember fondly.

» Besonders beeindruckend war der Campus der NUS, auf dem sich das gesamte Studentenleben abspielte «
Student vor einem Gebäude der University of California in Berkeley

Erfahrungsbericht von Julius

National University of Singapore, 2023

Mit der Unterstützung der Lothar-und-Sigrid-Rohde-Stiftung habe ich ein Semester lang an der National University of Singapore (NUS) studiert und einzigartige akademische und kulturelle Erfahrungen gesammelt.

Singapur hat mich als „Asian Tiger“, der sich in nur wenigen Jahrzehnten von einem armen Land zu einem der modernsten und fortschrittlichsten Länder der Welt entwickelt hat, sehr fasziniert. Zudem verfügt Singapur mit der NUS über eine international renommierte Universität, die zur weltweiten Top 10 gehört.

Akademisch habe ich den Auslandsaufenthalt genutzt, um mich in den Bereichen Machine Learning und Optimierungsalgorithmen zu spezialisieren. Die praxisorientierten Module boten zahlreiche Gelegenheiten, gemeinsam mit einheimischen Studierenden an umfangreichen Projekten zu arbeiten und wertvolle Praxiserfahrung zu sammeln.

Besonders beeindruckend war der Campus der NUS, auf dem sich das gesamte Studentenleben abspielte: Von Bibliotheken, Sportplätzen, Schwimmbädern über Supermärkte bis hin zu den berühmten Hawker Centers mit ihrer kulinarischen Vielfalt war man hier bestens versorgt. Die NUS zeichnet sich auch durch ihren besonderen Gemeinschaftssinn aus. So gibt es professionelle Studententeams in diversen Sportarten und die einzelnen Studentenhäuser haben eigene Wappen und Merchandise und engagieren sich in Interessengruppen wie zum Beispiel für Fußball.

Singapur selbst bietet viele Sehenswürdigkeiten wie Marina Bay, Gardens by the Bay oder der Singapore Grand Prix. Außerdem ist es ein strategischer Ausgangspunkt für Reisen in Südostasien, sodass ich während meines Aufenthalts die Länder Malaysia, Indonesien, Thailand und Vietnam erkunden konnte. Diese Erlebnisse haben den primärakademischen Aufenthalt zu einem echten Abenteuer gemacht.

Diese Kombination aus akademischen, kulturellen und sozialen Erfahrungen hat mich persönlich sehr bereichert. Das Auslandssemester an der NUS war ein einmaliges Erlebnis, an das ich mich immer gerne zurückerinnern werde.